Quarter Life Crisis

My life is a series of awkward events strung together

Tis the Season, for Those who Care Once a Year November 20, 2012

Filed under: The Peanut Gallery — Kaela @ 4:11 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Whelp, the holiday are upon us. I can’t decide if they slowly crept up on me and I was oblivious or if they jumped out at me when I was least expecting like Ashton Kutcher from the days when “Punked” was good.

Either way, I’m already over it before they even began. I’m not a Scrooge. I am looking forward to the time I can spend with my family and cheesy Christmas movies on the Hallmark channel.

What I’m over is all of the people who suddenly make it their mission to care. Why do we need a day to remind us to be thankful, the Christmas spirit to make us care, and half a month full of pink and red hearts to remind us to love?

If we were really as thankful, caring, and loving as we claim to be wouldn’t we just be like that everyday? Sure it’s nice to have one day to commemorate the event just like we have Veteran’s Day and Martin Luther King Jr. Day but is that the only day that we should act in honor of the event?

I know what you’re thinking, if I think we should just pretend like its Christmas/whatever winter holiday you choose to celebrate all of the time then why is it okay to celebrate birthdays? Luckily, I can escape the wrath of hipocracy here. I celebrate my birthday all the time. I partake in Kaela Day celebrations multiple times each week, and I’m not alone, my friends and family even join in on the fun once and a while.

I think that we should be thankful everyday. We should eat bowls full of mashed potatoes more than one day a year. We should donate our time and money during the spring and summer too. Just because our Christmas cheer runs dry as the grass peaks out of the snow does not mean that the less fortunate people living in our communities are suddenly safe, healthy, fed, clothed, sheltered, and educated.

And how thankful are we really on Thanksgiving? We spend the day watching a parade and footfall, shoving our faces with food, and then trampling the people we were just so thankful for in order to fill our houses with more things, because all of the things we were thankful for the day before just wasn’t enough.

Not that there’s anything wrong with having a lazy day and eating like a pig once and a while, but we should be thankful EVERY day and actually show it. We live in a world where just being thankful isn’t enough, we must pay it forward to make a difference.

I don’t want to discount those who give during the holiday season. Every contribution helps and just because it may be motivated by a little reminder does not mean that it is any less necessary and appreciated by those in need. Donating and caring once a year is better than never doing it, but imagine what our world would be like if we did it more than just once a year.

Now that the holidays are here let’s give, love, share, and care. And then let us continue to do that all year before we blink and the holidays are here again.

20121119-220914.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.